The Fine Art of Deception; Undoing Time, Alyssa Richards

The Fine Art of Deception; Undoing Time, Alyssa Richards
Genre: Romance, paranormal
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
Seems as though this is Alyssa’s debut book – and what a fantastic start. I love romance that has something extra, and though the genre selection didn’t suggest anything other than straight romance, it’s far more IMO, a beautiful romance with elements of paranormal and suspense.
Adeline comes from a family with extra talents, her sister can mentally “push” people to do what she wants, and Adeline has an ability to see the history from touching an object, and find out more about the people connected with it. Its not a gift that’s brought her family happiness though, her father and grandfather disappeared mysteriously, and when she told her best friend about it she lost both the friendship of her and others, her job, and then her boyfriend ditched her for the best friend too. She’s decided that she’s going to ignore her gift, and look for something normal, a straightforward job, and try to live as everyone else does. Its hard though, some touches happen by accident, and sometimes she just can’t resist a dip into the history of something. She’s learned so much about artists and art that way, being able to tell real from fake when they reveal their stories to her touch. Of course she can’t tell anyone other than family about it but its been both a joy and sometimes traumatic to her.
I love the idea that things can keep essences of people connected to them. I love old buildings and artefacts, and like to think about people connected with them – to have Addie’s gift would be wonderful – but then seeing what you don’t want, or actually being partially pulled into past could be not so good…. still, I’m open minded about things like that, and don’t find it hard to believe that this could happen to some people ( or maybe I’m just naive and gullible !!) Anyway I loved Addie, felt for her when the job she enjoys turns out to bring her into real danger. Then there’s Blake and what a guy he is. The connection between them sizzles, steams and feels intense, but of course Addie knows he’s hiding things, not least because she suspects he has abilities similar to her sister, and the things of his she touches are blank. That just doesn’t happen, has been done deliberately to hide things….so she tries to avoid him but he keeps on asking, and somehow she finds herself wrapped up in a relationship with him. There’s some real heartbreak though when her “touches” show her things she doesn’t want to see, and after her last disaster of a romance she’s wary…
I really enjoyed this read, full of sensuality, beautiful settings and stories, and people that felt real. When the dangers heated up they felt genuine, and like Addie I wasn’t sure who was to be trusted and what was the truth. Its a great novel, one I really enjoyed and I’d happily read anything Alyssa writes next.
Stars: Five, a great read.
ARC provided by netgalley and publisher

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.