Awakened, Kate Douglas

Awakened,  Kate Douglas

click image for amazon link

Genre:  Romance, suspence

Third book in Kate’s intimate relations series, I enjoyed the first two and this looked to be a great continuation.

We’ve seen Kaz and Jake fall in love, then Jake’s brother Ben falls for Kaz friend Lola, and now Jake’s friend Marc is falling for Mandy, Lola’s sister.
Confused yet?? A close group of friends and it could be quite sickly, incestuous almost they way the group is finding romance within its bounds, but its not, its a strong, well written suspense series, with the friends and siblings all falling in love, but with stories that make it all feel real, fell very genuine. After all its only natural when you love someone to introduce them to your close friends and family, and then  they have friends and families too and suddenly a small group of people all know each other, some of whom have much in common, and attractions  begin.

I loved Marc right from book one, its always been clear he’s got a kind of front, that behind the facade there’s a very different man. Mandy  had a crush on him years before she even met him, seeing him cycling past the coffee shop where she works. Then he enters the small group by way of Jake, and she’s stunned to find him there, at her home, drinking and eating with her friends. Each is really attracted to the other but hide it for their own reasons. Mandy is just lovely, always out to help others, to do good, she gives so much, loves her job where she meets people. She’s one of those who are great at that, everyone becomes a friend very quickly.
Then Lola and Ben are away at the same time as Kaz and Jake, and Mandy and Marc are thrown closer – that’s it for Marc, if he doesn’t kiss her Now he’ll go out of his mind. He’s stunned when he finds Mandy is really attracted to him too. But this is one of Kate’s suspense stories so no straightforward HEA for them 😉
Marc’s nightmares are getting worse, he’s been hiding them, fearful of what they mean, of what he sees about himself in them. then one night it comes to a head, Mandy finds out and from there the dangers race up on them, bringing together the whole gang, including Ted the FBI guy they met when Ben was in trouble. He’s now left the fibbies and is working for Marc and boy, does he hit the ground running. He’s staying with Theo, Marc’s right hand man, as his usual hotel is full and …well, sparks fly there too!

Its a great read, well paced with a great balance between the hot and carnal romance and the quickly stacking up dangers. There’s a couple of incidences that niggled, one where Marc acts to me really out of character, but it is reasonably plausible, and is needed to move that plot forward. His dad’s timing seems very co-incidental, but then again no book if it hadn’t all come together right now 🙂 There one element where I was rolling my eyes “please, Kate, no. Not that again…” and waiting for something to happen from it, and then when it does – or doesn’t I found myself muttering apologies to Kate, she didn’t use that well worn plot, didn’t let it go the way far too many others do, I should have had more faith in her!! Its kind of hard to say without giving things away but when you read it I’m sure you’ll know exactly what I mean – its something that happens far, far to often in romance reads.
This isn’t just a romance read though, but romantic suspense,  it it deserved – and got- better than an overused plot.

Stars: Four, there’s a couple of elements that are a bit too predictable, but overall its another cracking read from Kate.

ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

7 responses to “Awakened, Kate Douglas”

  1. jeanniezelos says :

    “buy even more books that I don’t have time to read”
    Me too, I get review ARCs, have KU, scour amazons free lists and STILL spend more than I can really afford on new book 🙂 I love to read, that’s how I got into the whole blogging/reviewing thing, by getting ARCs as I just can’t afford to buy all the books I want to read.
    Somehow my TBR lists gets longer and longer and every now and then I have to rein myself in.
    Bad Jeannie, no new books til the list is down!

  2. Kate Douglas says :

    I’m glad I follow you or might have missed this! Thank you for such a terrific review. Marc was my favorite character from the very beginning, but I’ve always loved heroes that are more “beta” than alpha. Hope it’s okay if I use a quote. Will link to the review.

    Thanks!
    Kate

    • jeanniezelos says :

      Thanks Kate, its always difficult I find trying to say what you liked without giving too much away. I love Marc, I love the Alpha type but sometimes get tired of all that male posturing and reading someone like Marc is a treasure. shows men can do more than stut and grunt and be considered sexy 😉
      Feel free to quote, I’ll be very honoured for you to use my words

      • Kate Douglas says :

        Thanks, Jeannie. Just used a snippet and linked to the whole review. And I really do appreciate your not throwing spoilers into the mix. I rarely read reviews because that makes me so frustrated! Yours I enjoy–in fact sent one to Darynda Jones a couple days ago when you reviewed her latest. She hadn’t seen it yet.

      • jeanniezelos says :

        thanks Kate, I love Darynda’s writing – adore Charley 😉 I get these books via Netgalley and always submit a copy of my review to them when its ready, I assumed they passed it on to authors, maybe it just goes to publicists? Thats a shame.

      • Kate Douglas says :

        Jeannie, it’s hit or miss whether we see them or not. Often the only way I hear about a review is if the author of the review leaves a post on my FB page or copies me in a tweet. I think my publicist told me about your first review and I liked the way you do them so started following you, which is how I’ve learned about the others.

        Unfortunately, you’ve enticed me to buy even more books that I don’t have time to read! Bad, bad, girl… 😜

      • Kate Douglas says :

        Forgot to mention–that’s what I love about my guy. He can be an alpha when it’s needed, but most of the time he’s a thoughtful guy who uses his brain, not his ego. 😘

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.