Archive | September 25, 2017

Silva, follow on from Siren’s Wave. J.A. Hazel

 

Genre:  Romance
Last year I reviewed a fabulous Rock Star Romance book, Siren’s Wave,  my review here 

If you enjoyed that there’s a FREE sequel written for us folk who wanted more 😉 Just  click here and follow the links.Its not on general sale so you won’t find it at the usual retailers.

I reread Siren’s Wave before reading Silva, its got so much detail and is very different to most of whats out. (In a good way – so much romance is cut-n-paste it feels like, change the names but the story is the same ), so I wanted to remind myself of exactly how the characters got to where they are now.

I loved the angst, the struggles of Siren’s Wave, and in Silva all that is multiplied. Bran and Ava really go through the wringer, its heart-breaking at times.
I was so angry at both of them, wanted to shake them, make them see just what they were in danger of losing, that they were so lucky to have found this precious love with each other, that they needed to treasure it, nurture it.

We’ve got the same great group of characters as in book one, more of that perfect music/band setting that J A Hazel does so well. And of course Nate’s mum, Abby’s, dog Roxy!! a real star 😉
All that made the story and the characters feel so very real to me.
I need novels to feel real, I know they aren’t but I want to get lost in the story, feel as if I’m there with characters, feeling as they feel, worry when they’re unhappy, share their joy when things come right.
There’s a great insight into the characters here, what motivates them, how our pasts affect us, and how strongly we can feel about things even when our heads are telling us we’re not being logical.
I always find that really interesting – we’re all a product of our past, and its constantly changing, what happened yesterday, what happens today can very easily affect tomorrow.

I loved this story, plenty of angst, and the “down” part, the part which has me thinking “how can they get through this?”  was kept  drawn out over many chapters, which is perfect for me.
I love the sad bits, makes the HEA so much better 😉 yet for so many stories that happens over just a few pages, and for me I need the characters to really hit bottom.
Here they do, and even though I know things will come right I was so sad for them when they were in the midst of it all.

Stars: Five, great read, incredibly moving follow up.

ARC supplied by author

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.