Archive | August 22, 2014

The Cage King, A Novella of the Entwined Realms, Danielle Monsch

 

The Cage King, A Novella of the Entwined Realms, Danielle Monsch
Review from jeannie zelos book reviews

So, second ( or perhaps 1.5) book in the series. I’ve not read book one though from sample and reviews I’m not sure how they connect, and I don’t think that affected how I felt about this novel.
Its a strange book, full of magic and mysterious characters, people who are not what or who they seem, the usual rich, murderous bullies and a search to retrieve a missing magical ring that could prove disastrous for the world. Lots to pack in to 142 pages, and perhaps that’s part of my problem. I felt there was lots going on, but there wasn’t really enough info or time spent with the leading characters for me to take to them. Nalah seemed to still be blaming Esh for the tragedy of five years past…and yet he was her lover and her brothers best friend. They’d all been friends since they were very young, and helped each other survive a very harsh existence on the streets. So to have just left him as she did – well, I could see why he wasn’t happy about it. The story of the cage fights, and the man running them, didn’t seem to marry up properly for me with the magical side of events. I wasn’t sure why he’d raided the Guild and stolen such precious items – or how he managed to do it being un-magical himself, and ( you’d think) the Guild would have them well protected.
Given the Tour with the fights was kept very secret and Esh had refused to join up til now, it seemed to me Nalah was naive not to consider the danger to Esh life. For all that she professed she was going to hold out against him and his attraction that didn’t last long ( but did give some searingly sensual moments). To be honest I wasn’t sure where the focus was here – the fights and the lust for blood and power, or the Magic and the power that comes from obtaining certain artefacts. I’m not keen either on danger being overcome by unknown and last minute interactions…but that’s me Winking smile
Stars: 2.5. there were parts I liked but overall it just felt too muddled for me.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.