Archive | July 8, 2014

Taming the Tango Champion, Cait O’Sullivan,

Taming the Tango Champion

 

Taming the Tango Champion, Cait O’Sullivan,
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Sometimes I just want a straightforward romance so picked up this one. Sadly, though the premise was good, I found it was for me an ok read, not one to really “get” to me, enjoyable and well written, but just not with that magic spark that makes a five star read. Still, that’s only me, and I’m sure there will be thousands of readers for whom this is a perfect read.
Anway, Ava ( I love that name..) had a brief fling at the end of her one year sabbatical travelling the world, which resulted in baby Bella. She’s a confident, successful lady and I liked her until she was with Matthias. Then she turned into a simpering “yes” girl, making excuses for all his behaviour. Matthias, he’s very Alpha male, but still, he treated her badly IMO, mainly because she left him early next morning without telling him. Ahhh…poor man, I’m sure he’d done that often enough. When he finds out about baby Bella he’s worse, hot and cold, and the story goes from bad to good to bad again. I wanted Ava to stand up to him, to argue, to tell him he was behaving like a jerk, and needed to show her some respect. Did she though? No 😦 she just rolled over ( literally at times ) and let him do whatever he wanted once again. Where was that confident lady who travelled solo round the world for a year? I didn’t see any trace of her
I understood her initial actions, likewise his feeling of rejection, but the romance and the drama set out via the competiton would have worked so much better for me if she’d have shown some teeth, some backbone, something of the Ava that had become sucessful in her career and life. Matthias was Alpha, hot, sensual, wealthy – all the things that make the romatic hero, but at times he seemed unable/unwilling to see anything other than his own viewpoint. That made him so much less in my mind…I needed him to show some respect, and the turnaround at the end just wasn’t enough for me.
Stars: three – its well written and a good storyline, but the two main chacters needed more for me to like them and care about what happened to them.
Arc supplied via Netgalley

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.