Shadows of Fate, Angela Dennis

Shadows of Fate,  Angela Dennis
Genre:  Paranormal/Fantasy Romance.
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
This sounded a great read, and looked to be one that may continue into a series, and I love those. Sadly, though its well written, somehow I just couldn’t really get into the story.
I found myself putting it aside for other reads then picking it up again. I restarted a couple of times thinking maybe I just hadn’t quite understood who and what everyone was. Its a very different sort of paranormal, with so many types of creature/person that its hard for me to sort out who did what and how they fit together. Each of them had different skills, and even within the small groups they all kept things hidden from each other. That I think is why I didn’t feel I knew any of them well, and couldn’t feel connected or invested in the story.
Its a romance, but not in the usual way, with a slowly developing connection between Brenna and Gray, even though they don’t trust each other. There’s lots going on, murders and double dealing, lots of things to try to understand in the different ways people are killed, and trying to work out who is behind it and why. There’s one fairly major thing I’d worked out pretty early on, but that didn’t spoil it for me, just led to me looking for things that supported my theory.
Its a possible five star read for many, full of twist and turns, paranormal creatures, plots to overthrow groups and dastardly murders – and of course that slowly growing romance, but somehow it just didn’t connect with me. I’m hovering between a two and a three but on balance I can’t quite bring myself to rate it a three – for me that’s a good read, just not a great one – and this wasn’t good for me, even though I just know it will be for many others. That’s how it goes, we all want different things, so I’m giving a two and a half – will show as a three of course, as no half stars…
Stars: Two and a half, but as I said it’ll be five for many readers. It has quality but just not a book that worked for me.
ARC provided by Netgalley and publishers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.