Uncovering Ray, Edie Danford

Uncovering Ray, Edie Danford  
Genre: LGBTQIA, New Adult
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
I’ve always thought it’s the story that counts, the romance, not the sex of the characters, their race, religion, disability or anything. Then I picked up this book and it made me realise that maybe I’m not as open minded as I like to think…
Ray is a troubled 20 year old, and is having a hard time coping. Jerk father, uninterested mother and he currently lives with his sort of stepfather and young half brother Dave,in a basement flat from the main property. Allows a little independence while still letting stepdad keep watch.d I so felt for him and his problems. Ray tries to help but has problems too – and Dave tries to help Ray. Sort of recipe for disaster isn’t it – the blind leading the blind?
Rays a hard worker though, does frequent double shifts at the Ellery Diner as the money is needed. Then in comes Wyatt and his frat pals, and they’re pretty obnoxious. Ray is tall but also has a real androgyny appearance and that’s much of the problem. There’s no neat pigeon hole, Ray is clear that sexuality is fluid and we’re left wondering – after drunken Mike asks it-well, is Ray a boy or a girl ? And that’s where my liberalism was tested – did it matter, and why was I so curious if its really the story that interests me? Am I one of those who want to label people? I didn’t think so but the more mystery about Ray there was the more I wanted to know the answer. I think though – hope anyway- that its curiosity alone that made me want to know. Certainly it didn’t affect the story whatever the answer was, and I really enjoyed the way it played out. I so felt for Ray, struggling over issues of not only gender but how everyone treats it, and how to find a way in the world that didn’t involve using parents connections. Independence is great, but sometimes having a rich family can work against one and that’s what Ray seemed to fear. Wanted to be successful under Rays own efforts.
Wyatt – tall,handsome, manly Wyatt,is clearly interested in Ray, but his early approaches get rebuffed. He’s persistent though, in his gentle,polite way and somehow he gets closer and under Rays barriers – though there are lots of push backs. Even when they’re at the kissing and touching stage its still never clear what sex Ray is and it doesn’t seem to matter to Wyatt even though so far he’s been only interested in girls…and soon they’ve gone further and are lovers. Its a very touching,emotional relationship, with Ray still have huge problems to overcome, and keeping so much hidden from Wyatt though he probably knows more than anyone else. Then – wham, everything catches up with Ray just at the point where, in an attempt to help, Wyatt contacts someone he doesn’t know is from Ray’s past….and its a huge blowout. That coincided with other major events in Rays life,and the beautiful romance looks to be lost. I was so upset, could see both sides, loved them both and understood why they did what they did,but the big question – could they get past that and make things work?

Stars: five, for me this was a really great read,very full of drama and emotion and just the sort of romance I love. It made me think too and question my own perceptions and that’s good. We all need to be challenged sometimes.
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publishers

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jeanniezelos

I'm an avid reader, love my kindle and I have my head in a novel for hours daily : ) Mum used to say I'd read toilet paper if it was printed- it wasn't, so i had to contend myself with the back and sides of the cereal packets. I've always Needed to read and we had few books when i was a child hence my penchant for reading anything including adverts then... I review mainly contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance books though dystopian and urban fantasy also appeal. I'm currently rated around the 300 mark on amazon.co.uk for my reviews. I try to keep them structured and to say what I do and don't like about a book so other readers can use my review as a guide to whether they may enjoy the book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.