Archive | March 26, 2015

Becoming His Master, M.Q. Barber

Becoming His Master, M.Q. Barber
Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews.

Genre: Erotica, LGBTQIA
Well, like lots of readers I’ve been curious about what on earth really happened to poor Jay before he met Henry, and was rescued. Jays such a fabulous character, he always reminds me of an eager, Labrador puppy, always wanting to please, loves praise for getting things right and so so full of boundless energy. Here though we meet a different Jay, where Henry is slowly unravelling the damage done to him, slowly learning what he needs, and teaching him the true meaning of submission and what a Dominant should be doing for his sub.
Poor Henry, I love him, he’s such a good man, and always puts his needs last. There are few true gentlemen like him in the world, and he epitomises all that’s best about them. He wants Jay fiercely, is attracted to him right from the start, but he wants the best for Jay, what’s right for him more than he wants his own satisfaction. He’s trying to teach him, without falling in love with him ( ha! no chance!), and trying to show Jay that there are other options for him to choose, that he doesn’t have to stay with Henry, and that not all Doms are like the obnoxious Cal.
What I enjoy about this series is the way the BDSM element is explained – I only know what I’ve gleaned from novels and it seems to make sense the way its shown in these novels. Safe and consensual being the main criteria, and the stress and obedience to safe words as Henry explains it, and not as poor Jay has  been told, that safe wording is a failure. For someone like Jay who just wants to please, that’s incredibly dangerous.
I have to say though, that I was really keen to read this book, really wanted to know what had gone before but…I missed Alice. Somehow the three together work in a magical way, giving me a read that’s full of emotion, sensual, fun and allows each of them to shine as individuals. Though I got my questions answered this novel just wasn’t the same for me as books with the three in them, and I just didn’t get the same sense of satisfaction from reading it.
Stars: Three and a half, it’s still a good read but I missed Alice
ARC supplied by Netgalley and publisher.

jeannie's house renovation

buying a new home, updating, making suitable for a wheelchair user. ( Me!)

jeannie's art adventures

my adventure with acrylic pouring artworks

Danny Clark - Artist

Nothing you probably haven't already seen.

barn conversion blog

Saving a piece of local history and creating our dream home

Emme Cross

Totally Addictive Romance Novels

Kelly's Book Blog

Romance book blog! I'm a book lover, speed reader and reviewer!

jeannie zelos product reviews

Jeannie's honest thoughts on products bought or received for review purpose.

Alexis Hall

Genrequeer Writer of Kissing Books

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

So, I Read This Book Today

Editing, Proofreading, Reviewing and Other Stuff

Book Junkiez

Book Information and Reviews.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.